Interactive Bar

Google Translate
Google Search
School Logo

Chiddingstone Church of England School

Educating for life in all its fullness - John 10:10


School Governors

As an Academy Trust, governors are directors of the school and are responsible for the effective running of the school, with an emphasis on financial efficiency and effective governance.  Annually, the Department for Education requires us to audit the skills, knowledge and experience of the Governing Body to ensure that there is sufficient expertise to support a successful academy.  

Together with the Headteacher, the Governing Body has overall responsibility for the running of the school.  Governors are involved in deciding school policies, allocating the school’s budget and appointing staff. Governors act as a critical friend to the school staff and support the Headteacher through monitoring, participation in school activities and in offering their own expertise and guidance.

Governors are asked to sign a Code of Conduct on appointment and attend termly full Governing Body meetings.  The Governing Body is divided into sub-committees which reflect the areas of whole-school improvement, along with a Standards Committee and Finance Committee.


Our Members:

  • Mrs Lisa Cornell, Incumbent ( Foundation Governor)
  • Mr Christopher Darlington, Chairman of Governors ( Foundation Governor)
  • Mr Rupert Fleming
  • Mr Andrew Wilkinson
  • The Archdeacon of Tonbridge


Our Governors are:

  • Mrs Victoria Back, Vice-Chair of Governors, member Appointed Governor and Chair of the Standards Committee
  • Mr Jerome Basdeo, Member Appointed Governor responsible for Wellbeing and Mental Health
  • Mrs Susie Braid, Foundation Governor 
  • Mrs Janey Cooper, Co-Opted Governor responsible for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities.
  • Mr Edward de de Ryckman de Betz, Parent Governor
  • Mrs Verity French, Parent Governor
  • Mrs Kate Haysom, Headteacher, Ex-officio Governor & Accounting Officer
  • Mrs Min Hancock,Member appointed, responsible for Safeguarding
  • Mrs Rosie Hester, Staff Governor
  • Mr Joel Hopwood, Chair of Finance Committee, member appointed
  • Mrs Pratiksha Jepp, Parent Governor
  • Mrs Jill McCoy-Member appointed, responsible for EYFS
  • Mr Stefan Woodward, Parent Governor


  • Mrs Lucy Ralph, Associate Governor (Staff)
  • Mrs Sarah Wetz, Associate Governor (Staff)
  • Mrs Louise Clarke - Clerk to the Governing Body and Company Secretary


Governors are responsible for reporting to parents on an annual basis on the end-of-year financial accounts and a review of the school's academic year.    

In the interests of transparency, and in accordance with the statutory requirements of the Education Funding Agency, please find below details of the current governance arrangements for Chiddingstone Church of England School.